Print Friendly, PDF & Email

All Saints High School One-Act Play troupe received Runner-Up at the TAPPS 2A State Competition yesterday in Kerrville.

Senior Brooke Stevenson was named TAPPS 2A State Best Actress. State All Star Cast honors went to seniors Bri Sanchez and Meghan Mitchell. State Honorable Mention Cast was awarded to senior Susannah Bumstead, and freshmen Emma Condra, Liberty DeLeon, Alexandra Mercer, and Amanda Kell.

All Saints defeated four other schools in their TAPPS District contest to become the district champions and state qualifiers October 24 in Lubbock. All Saints placed first and earned nine All Star awards for their One-Act Play interpretation of “The Trojan Women” written by Euripides and adapted by Ellen McLaughlin. The district win marked the fifth consecutive year All Saints has won district and qualified for the state contest. They were the TAPPS State Champions in 2016.

Waco Live Oak Classical School won the state championship with their production of “The Diviners”.

All Saints performed the 40-minute one-act play, The Trojan Women, written by the ancient Greek playwright Euripides and adapted by Ellen McLaughlin. It is a Greek tragedy about the conquering of the city of Troy by Helen of Troy and the Greeks. The play follows the fates of Hecuba, Andromache, Cassandra and the other women of Troy after their city has been destroyed, their husbands killed, and their remaining families about to be taken away as slaves. The play was first presented at the City Dionysia of 415 BC, along with two other unconnected tragedies, Alexandros and Palamedes, and the comedic satyr play Sisyphos, all of which have since been lost to antiquity. It is often considered one of Euripides greatest works, and among the best anti-war plays ever written.

The contest requires all plays be performed in one act lasting no more than 40 minutes. Sixty percent of the scoring is based upon acting while 40 percent is judged on other elements like sets, costumes, and lighting.

At the District contest senior Brianna Sanchez was named District Best Actress. Seniors Brooke Stevenson, Meghan Mitchell, and Susannah Bumstead were named to the All Star Cast. All Star Technical Crew was awarded to senior Abi Jordan. Sophomore Liberty DeLeon, and freshmen Alex Mercer, Amanda Kell, and Emma Condra were named Honorable Mention.

Other cast members include technical crew members freshmen Haley Dickerson and Logan Caffey, and senior Laela Tello as well as freshmen actors Clay Dickerson and Joshua Janes.