Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Another record was achieved last week by students at All Saints High School as they dominated the TAPPS 2A State Academic Competition to claim the high school’s first Academic Team State Championship.

All Saints defeated the second place school by 101 points and claimed 15 Individual State Championships as well being recognized as the Top Academic Team and Top Speech Team.

All Saints earned a total of 226 points to claim the championship. Second place went to Lubbock Christ the King Cathedral with 125 points. Amarillo Ascension Academy placed third with 111 points followed by Shiner St. Paul Catholic School in fourth place. Red Oak Ovilla Christian High School finished in fifth place with 74 points while Longview Trinity School of Texas earned 44 points and sixth place. Bulverde Bracken Christian School finished seventh with 21.5 points with Muenster Sacred Heart earning 21 points to take eighth place. Ninth place went to Hallettsvile Sacred Heart Catholic School with 18 points and four points and tenth place went to Bethesda Christian School.

In addition to winning first place team, 15 All Saints students each claimed Individual State Championships as well four students won second place in their events. Seven All Saints students placed third while three placed fourth. One student placed fifth with five students earning sixth place, two students earning seventh place and two students earning eighth place as well.

Matt Ryan serves as the Academic Director and academic coach along with coaches Kelly Beasley, Melissa Durham, Linda Gober, Sharon Kingston, Janet Martin, Victor Munoz, Pam Ryan, J.T. Seymore, and Shelly Smith.

2020 Yearbook Fourth Place
Juniors Ella Aycock, Emma Condra, Reagan Hunter, Haley Dickerson, Jilayne Headrick; Sophomores Regan Andrews, Sara Carothers, Portia Clary; 2020 Graduates Ellyn Brashear, Gage Clary, Elise Headrick, Hayley Latta, Garrett Matthews, Abby Schlehuber
Spelling Fourth Place Freshman Matthew Zhang
Ready Writing First Place Senior George Lipe
Ready Writing Sixth Place Junior Ashby Whitaker
Ready Writing Eighth Place Junior Leah Vinson
Current Events First Place Senior Sebastian Whitaker
Current Events Sixth Place Junior Ashby Whitaker
Current Events Seventh Place Sophomore Abigail Barritt
Literary Criticism First Place Freshman Jeye Johnson
Literary Criticism Third Place Junior Ashby Whitaker
Literary Criticism Sixth Place Sophomore Abigail Barritt
Science First Place Senior Ash Bumstead
Science Fourth Place Junior Chase Farnsworth
Science Sixth Place Junior Logan Caffey
Math First Place Freshman Rohan Felton
Math Third Place Sophomore Diego Cervera
Advanced Math First Place Senior Ash Bumstead
Advanced Math Fifth Place Junior Logan Caffey
Calculator First Place Senior Vincent Paone
Calculator Second Place Sophomore Campbell Howe
Calculator Sixth Place Junior Logan Caffey
Number Sense First Place Freshman Rohan Felton
Social Studies Second Place Freshman Luke D’Alise
Social Studies Third Place Senior Sebastian Whitaker
Spanish First Place Sophomore Diego Cervera
Poetry First Place Junior Alex Mercer
Prose Third Place Freshman Olivia Needham
Original Oratory First Place Sophomore Abigail Barritt
Original Oratory Second Place Sophomore Portia Clary
Original Oratory Third Place Sophomore Maddie Matthews
Persuasive Speaking Sixth Place Sophomore Campbell Howe
Persuasive Speaking Seventh Place Junior Ashby Whitaker
LD Debate First Place Senior Sebastian Whitaker
LD Debate Second Place Freshman Calvin Carpenter
LD Debate Third Place Freshman Olivia Needham